Raw Wood- Avoiding the Water Stains.

So I’m in the market for a new coffee table. I have an absolute love affair with raw wood. I love everything about it, the grain, the knots, the feel of it. The biggest problem I have with raw wood however, is my complimentary love affair with hot beverages. I have a turned oak coffee table at the moment, painted many times to match my other furniture pieces. Seeing as it is in constant beverage use, it develops cup rings, which I paint over every few months. This problem will only get worse with a raw wood coffee table, I hate the thought of destroying that beautiful grain. Waxing raw wood helps, but for a heavy traffic area it simply is not enough. Varnish you say? NEVER! Not only would that ruin the raw look it would also change the colour.

Sometimes the simplest solution to an issue such as this, is to buy something that solves your problem without actually altering the piece itself. You should never try to alter something which is fine as it is. I am a big believer in the mantra “If it aint broke then don’t fix it”. I never change the finishes of furniture, as it often ends in disaster.

My solution is this: buy some beautiful Morrocan tiles to use as coasters!

Tiznit Tile from Kasbah Morrocan Imports Melbourne. RRP $10.00 each

I also love the idea of using a larger slab tile as a place mat for the dining table.

Ornate Tile from Kasbah Morrocan Imports Melbourne. RRP: $15.00

Can you see it? With some candles and fresh Lavender as a centrepiece? Add some friends and a good bottle of Pinot Noir- ahhh sounds good to me!.

Keep an eye out at Glebe Markets or search some of the second-hand and antique stores around Surry Hills for recovered tiles from old townhouses. Because tiles are much heavier than a standard cork coaster they seem more substantial and make more aesthetic sense on raw wood, especially if they are vintage and a little knocked around.

Vintage tile from Old World Tiles. RRP: $11.00 each.

For those of you looking for a more contemporary look try Bunnings for solid stone tiles.

Reuse and recycle- finding a new use for old tiles gives them a new use. Your friends will appreciate your creativity 🙂

XOXO CAT

3 thoughts on “Raw Wood- Avoiding the Water Stains.

What do you think??!

